Main content of the website


Explore Volunteer Opportunities:

Westlock County Fire Services exists to provide fire protection with five individual volunteer fire departments located around the County. The Fire Services Department has one full-time County Fire Chief, five District Chiefs and over 90 volunteer fire fighters. The members are continually training to improve their skills. Westlock County emergency services are delivered within the county border serving all ratepayers.

The County funds the entire operation with assistance in the way of fund raising by the volunteers within their departments, donations; each department has a fire hall, fire unit(s) and equipment.

Join our team!! If you want to help people, work well with others, enjoy learning and are physically fit, you may be an ideal candidate as a volunteer with the Westlock County Fire Services.

Minimum Requirements:

  • Must possess a valid class 5 Driver’s License and submit a current driver’s abstract with application
  • Must obtain a criminal record check including vulnerable sector check from the RCMP
  • Must be able to perform physical duties as part of fire fighting
  • Must be able to obtain the required levels of training when courses are available.
  • Must be available for 75% of practices
  • Must be able to obtain a cell phone

Please contact the Westlock County Office for more information and to apply.

The County’s Agricultural Service Board (ASB) directs the Agriculture Services Department. This board functions as the voice of agriculture by advising and responding to issues of local, provincial and national interest. Through County Council, the ASB and the Agricultural Service department work diligently to carry out the ASB goal of promoting, protecting and enhancing agriculture and rural living in a sustainable manner. The Agricultural Services department is legislated to conduct its activities under the Weed Control Act, the Agricultural Pests Act, the Soil Conservation Act and the Livestock Diseases Act. The department supports the ASB to meet and make recommendations to Council and the Provincial Minister of Agriculture.

ASB Bylaw 22-2019

Agricultural Service Board Application Form

The Subdivision and Development Appeal Board’s (SDAB) purpose is to hear those appeals as required by the Municipal Government Act from persons affected by a decision of the Development Authority and the Subdivision Authority.

Subdivision and Development Appeal Board By-Law 18-2018

The SDAB consists of five (5) members and one (1) alternate member appointed annually by resolution of Council.  The current member are as follows:

Councillor Isaac Skuban

Gordon Lea

Ken Mead

Shirley Moerman

Brent Spearin

Larry Strilchuk (alternate)

The Composite Assessment Review Board (CARB) is made up of local appointees and one provincial member appointed by the Minister and can hear assessment complaints on residential properties with four or more dwelling units and non-residential classes of assessment other than those assessed by the Provincial Assessor.

Composite Assessment Review Board Bylaw 18-2019

The CARB consists of two (2) persons appointed by Council resolution.  The current members are:

Lionel Cherniwchan

Brian Bahry

The Local Assessment Review Board (LARB) is made up of local appointees and can only hear assessment complaints on residential properties, with three or fewer dwelling units, and farmland.

Local Assessment Review Board Bylaw 31-2010

The LARB currently does not have any members as Westlock County has not received any assessment appeals that fall under the LARB criteria.  Should there be a need for an assessment appeal, LARB members would be appointed by resolution of Council.

The Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) advises and assists Council with regards to the planning of orderly and economical development within the County.  The MPC ensures that any proposed development is in accordance with the purpose, scope or intent of the Land Use Bylaw.  It also acts as the Development Authority for the County within the Development Authority Bylaw and Land Use Bylaw.

Municipal Planning Commission By-Law 03-2018

The MPC membership is appointed by resolution of Council annually and consists five (5) members.  The current members are as follows:

Joanne Dusseault

Robert Frose

Ryan Langkopf

Jerry Comeau

Shawn Ristoff

The mandate of the Westlock Regional Municipal Airport Advisory Board is to assist the County in developing a vision for the future of the airport and to create a plan to bring that vision to reality, while maintaining an appropriate and reasonable level of service for the users of the facility, as determined by the County.  The Board will perform its duties in an advisory capacity only and will forward recommendations to the County which will include, but not necessarily be limited to the ongoing  maintenance and service levels, operating and capital budget and any potential upgrades or development.

Westlock Municipal Airport Advisory Board Bylaw 16-2013

The voting membership of the Board will consist of one (1) Elected Official from the Town of Westlock, one (1) Elected Official from the County and a maximum of five (5) public members at large who are owners or leaseholders of a hangar lot at the Westlock Municipal Regional Airport or a resident of the County.  The members of the Board will be appointed by resolution of council annually during the County’s Organizational Meeting held in October of each year.

The current Board members are:

Deputy Reeve Raymond Marquette (Westlock County)

Councillor Abby Keyes (Town of Westlock)

Dan Charrois

William Price

Larry Strilchuk

Patricia Williams

Jerald Driedger